American Board of Nursing Specialties (ABNS) Award Opportunity ABNS Award for Nursing Certification Advocacy

2014 ABNSs Award recipeients
2014 Recipient, Suburban Hospital Johns Hopkins Medicine From L to R: Maria Shirey ABNS President, PHD, MBA, RN, NEA‐BC, FACHE, FAAN; Barbara Jacobs, MSN, RN‐BC, CCRN; Leighann Sidone, MSN, RN, OCN, CENP; Virginia Schad BSN, RN, CEN; Cathy Clark BS, RN‐BC

Does your employer promote and recognize specialty nursing certification? Are activities conducted that advance the cause of specialty nursing certification? If you answered “yes” to either of these questions, please submit a nomination for the ABNS Award for Nursing Certification Advocacy. Read about the award criteria.

Since the inception of this award, ABNS has had the privilege to recognize 12 outstanding departments or organizations that advocate for specialty nursing certification:

2003 Genesis Medical Center, Davenport, IA
2004 Avera McKennan Hospital and University Health Center, Sioux Falls, ND
2005 Saint Peter’s University Hospital, New Brunswick, NJ
2006 4th Floor, Surgical, Scripps Memorial Hospital, La Jolla, CA
2007 Robert Packer Hospital, Sayre, PA
2008 Orlando Regional Healthcare, Orlando, FL
2009 St. Mary's Medical Center, Evansville, IL
2010 Duke University Health System, Durham, NC
2011 East Jefferson General Hospital Critical Care Division, Metaire, LA
2012 Morristown Medical Center, Morristown, NJ
2013 The Methodist Hospital, Houston, TX
2014 Suburban Hospital Johns Hopkins Medicine, Baltimore, MD

This is an opportunity to be recognized for the many ways in which your employer supports and recognizes your certified nurses. The application is due by January 15, 2015 and is available on the ABNS website.

The Award recipient will be announced on March 19 — National Certified Nurses Day! A member of the ABNS Board of Directors personally presents the Award, a beautifully engraved statuary, typically during Nurses Week.

Questions? For more information, call ABNS at (330) 995‐9172 or email