Award for Quality Improvement Project in Nephrology

The Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission® (NNCC®) has developed this award to recognize an individual or organization participating in a quality improvement project that promotes optimal patient outcomes in nephrology. At least one of the individuals submitting the application must be currently certified by NNCC.

Quality improvement is the foundation for improving care delivery and patient outcomes. Nurses, advance practice providers, and technicians are essential stakeholders in improving the process. NNCC believes that applying quality improvement strategies to the care of nephrology patients ultimately leads to safer and better outcomes.

The Nephrology Nursing QI Award recipient will be chosen by NNCC in the summer of each year. Arrangements will be made with the recipient organization for the NNCC president or a member of the NNCC Commission to personally present the award in a ceremony held at the recipient organization during Nephrology Nurses’ Week in September.

The recipient will receive $1,000 and an engraved plaque. A poster featuring a picture of the winning individual or organization will be displayed at the NNCC exhibit booth at national meetings. This picture and an announcement of the award recipient will also be posted on the NNCC website, on NNCC social media pages, and in the NNCC enewsletter.

All applications must be submitted no later than midnight, June 15 via email to with the subject line QI Award.

Each application must include the following to be considered complete:

  1. Abstract – 250 words. Format: Title, Problem Statement, Background/Project Intent, Methodology, Results, Conclusion.
  2. Completed application form.
  3. One letter signed by the facility’s administrator or medical director confirming the projects and results.

Download the QI Project Award Application and Instructions

2019 Recipients:

Aspirus Langlade Hospital Kidney Care

2020 Recipients:

Fresenius Kidney Care Crystal Springs Dialysis; UVA Health Dialysis Program Kidney Center and Lynchburg Dialysis

2021 Recipients:

Loma Linda VA Healthcare - Dialysis Unit

Emory Dialysis Clinics

Rochester General Hospital Dialysis

DaVita Louisville Dialysis